A Life to Live; Short Poem by Ovie Emekene

life-cycle-picture

Once upon a time

A man asked me if I had seen death

I said a quick no

I didn’t even think before answering

But since then

I think about it like never before

As a matter of fact

I have seen death

Death has been all around me

So much that

My mind at times screams “DIE”

Everyone has that one dear friend

That they’ve lost over the years

Though I’m young

I’m old enough to know the pain of loss

And I’m not too young to die

Now I’m looking for that man

To tell him seeing death matters not

What matters

Is what you did with the life

The life you had

What matters

Is changing the world

So much that the earth

Will miss you dearly when you’re gone.

*************

tumblr_md651p6Dij1r46py4o1_500

This is the second poem here by this same young talented poet. Like I always say never fail to appreciate talent and I do my best to. So it was my pleasure having this poem first showcased on my blog.

He said he saw a poem on Instagram. It said, ‘I seldom think about death but recently I had been thinking much about death’. But this was the opposite of Ovie’s thoughts.

He said its never about the death but its always about who died. I quote his words, ‘You can’t tell me a beggar would be mourned the same way Drake would be mourned when he dies’. Just trying to point people in a right direction… Ensure you leave a mark on this earth so people will know how to remember you. Woah.. He sure inspires me and I agree with no arguments.

img-20151228-wa0004.jpg

Get at him on Instagram and Twitter @Slow_Zeus

Keep supporting good I urge you dear readers and keep supporting us with your comments, likes and shares to your twitter, facebook, etc.

img-20151228-wa0001.jpg

Remain inspired and stay blessed. Enjoy the week.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Amina says:

    It is so true, a beggar will not be mourned the same way. We all need to leave a mark on the earth. A good & worthwhile mark.
    God bless you Ovie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nneoma says:

    You’re doing a wonderful job Nnamdi I pray God gives you wisdom to continue living your dream I’m your biggest fan 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot dear. Amen and bless you too for supporting

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ajokee says:

    Thanks for sharing slow_Zeus, lovely .. I really enjoy your poems and this is really inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot dear. God bless for the support

      Like

Leave a Reply 'cos your thought counts

