YOUR RESPONSE, YOUR CHOICE; THE MADNESS ON LAGOS ROADS AND WHAT YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT.

What is it about driving in Lagos that would turn the most gentle individuals to savages? In all my musing, I am yet to find out. I can only hope, no decide, that whenever I drive, I would be different. 

I was listening to the radio some time last year, on the way to a function, when the radio presenter introduced a challenge. He announced a prize of Fifty thousand Naira for anyone who could drive from the main land to the island without abusing any other road user. 

“Pft, easy!”, was my response. But that was before he introduced the catch. The catch was that no one should abuse you too. And everyone in the studio began to laugh like it was something impossible. Maybe just maybe, because they’re right and it actually is? 

As much as like to defy norms and limitations given by society which most people gladly adopt, I having lived in Lagos for getting to four years now, cannot deny the fact that it is impossible do drive such a long distance, braving the traffic, without being abused or yelled at. When such things and people as reckless cyclists, dreaded drivers of the yellow bus, and seasoned captains of the beat up molués still exist. It is indeed a given. An event we have the least bit of control ever.

My style in situations and events I have no control over however, has always been the same. One in which prevents me from unnecessary stress and headache. And that is too leave that which I have no control over while focusing on the things which I can control. Most at times, my response and attitude to the things I can not control. 

When driving in Lagos, aye and in all other activities of life, we can not control how people treat us. We can however decide how we respond. On Lagos roads for example, We can decide if we’d chase them down and cuss them out or if we’d simply smile and go our way. We can decide if we’d pay attention to their curt remarks or if we’d ignore them and remain at a higher place. The latter one which avoids us stress and discomfort.

I understand that there are many hurtful things that other road users would do that can make you want to lash out. But with time keeping your cool gets easier and soon you’d be unfazed by their actions. 

Living a positive life is something which can be very challenging yet rewarding. One way I’ve been able to live one, is by making sure that all that comes out from my mouth are positive. No shaming, abusing, or bringing down with my mouth. After all, as the good Lord taught, it is that which comes out from a person, that defiles him/her. 

Enough with the talking from my end, what do you think? 

Image source.

Leave a Reply 'cos your thought counts

