When Calamity is a Blessing- Part 1

   Happy Sunday reader? To my Nigerians; how did you spend the Independence Day? Hope you had fun. Welcome to the first Sunday of the month which happens to be the first Sunday for ‘When Calamity is a blessing’ 

   I wanted to title it- ‘When Calamity is only paving a way for you’ But then I felt it was too long, LOL. But that’s the main concept. Do you all still remember the boy whose father got him a coat of many colours (I still feel it was a KIMONO) in the Holy Bible? So we’ll be looking through the story of Joseph son of Jacob. 

   Firstly, let’s have a quick recap;

Joseph was highly favored amongst his brothers and this caused jealousy, envy and hatred towards him. It wasn’t getting any better rather it got worse. His father got him a coat of many colours! (How do we feel when our little brother gets something really nice and we’re left out?) and he had dreams which interpreted he would reign over his parents and brothers. Wow! The dreamer; they called him. When his brothers had the opportunity, they resolved to killing him but fortunately he was sold instead. That would have been really tough for a ‘daddy’s boy’. Don’t you think so? The story continues and is found in Genesis chapter 37-47. I’ll share four things I learnt from this story with you today. And by next week, I’ll tell you more. 

   We shouldn’t envy others no matter what.

Yes, we need to start celebrating with people when they are, it doesn’t pay to envy others. Joseph’s brothers envied him so much and that only begat hatred and led to sin. For this October, please try to make peace with everyone. It doesn’t pay to keep malice, you’ll only keep hurting yourself. I don’t know about you but whenever I’m not in good terms with someone, my heart skips a beat when I see them. You can’t attain inner joy if you aren’t in peace with a lot. 

    Be nice irrespective of how people treat you. 

Joseph really tried and if he could, I know we can. Being nice to his brothers who didn’t show him the same. How many of us can do that? If I were Joseph, I could walk up to my brothers one day especially the eldest then ask him if he’s really my brother, perhaps tell him how much I hate him as well ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ So we’ll make the hatred mutual. But that’s not what Christ wants from us. We aren’t perfect but we are trying as much to be like Christ. Joseph loved them still, so much. This was how I confirmed- After his father sent him to the fields to check on his brothers, he didn’t see them there. What did he do? He asked for their new location and pursued after them. You know he could just go back to the father- I didn’t see them. 

   The heart of man is wicked

Lol, oh yes I had to admit this one. Harsh but true. We can’t hide from the truth. His brothers schemed to tell their old father that Joseph is dead. Not thinking of the heart break their father would go through. And why would my brothers want to kill me? Or even sell me? They definitely didn’t want his presence and by all means wanted to get rid of him. My point here is that we need to be careful in all we do. 

   We need to stand for what’s right so we don’t regret it. 

This is one thing that really hit me. Reuben, the eldest, had plans of releasing Joseph from the pit while the others would have gone. But sadly, they did worse when he was gone. Reuben regretted it and who cares about his intentions? As far as we are concerned, they schemed together. So we need to be careful, stand for what’s right. If everyone is going for a wrong choice, you don’t need to follow. Please stand for the truth, it makes God really happy. And you’ll be glad you don’t end up regretting like Reuben- GOOD INTENTIONS, BAD DEEDS! 

  I’ll be stopping here today; I already shared four things I learnt. So what do you think? Also, I want to hear from you- At this point, you’ve just been sold into slavery (remember you are daddy’s boy or girl) by your siblings, what would be going through your mind?

Let’s discuss in the comment section below! I’m glad you visited my blog, thank you so much and God bless you!


8 Comments Add yours

  1. Anuli says:

    Kimonno, really? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I see why you would think that. I am actually guilty of being envious, it is a work in progress I feel like I am winning. Not to brag, but I am extremely nice to a fault, it even hurts to be not nice to people ๐Ÿ˜ถ. I also try daily to follow decisions that I do not regret, it sucks when I keep on wishing I could go back in time and undo something’s.

    If I was Joseph,I would probably suggest that I was the real child and they were adopted since I was obviously the favorite.

    Thanks a lot for this post, was really amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anuli says:

      *somethings* typing sucks. Can’t we just speak and the phone types?

      I feel like I am stale and there is actually something like that ๐Ÿ˜’

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Actually, there is

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Lmao ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I have that feeling ๐Ÿค”. Thanks a lot for reading. We are all trying to do the right thing. God would keep helping us

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amaka says:

    Sometimes I feel rejected at home ๐Ÿ˜Œ, I feel my mom doesn’t treat us equally so I’m always jealous and stuffs like that.. but when calamity happens to be a blessing ๐Ÿ˜‚; I know I’ll be favored. Thanks dear for this inspiring piece. I’d be sure to pass the message

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sometimes I feel that way but gradually I realised they love all their children equally ‘cos they can’t afford to lose any. Thanks for stopping by; God bless you

      Like

  3. Someone over here needs a Kimono..
    The height of this stories leaves me thinking if they are stories or history…
    I was pondering yesterday after hearing about job on the sabbath, on how to deal With symptoms of pride, ego, and learn humility in general… Mehnnn, seemed like a tougher rough task.. How much more all you just mentioned. However we shall become

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. I know someone that sells. You’re so right. We just need to keep praying for the grace. Keeping the consequences in mind would help as well. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ

      Like

Leave a Reply 'cos your thought counts

